Who we are?

Project Partners


FAD Avedis Donabedian University Institute,Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain

AMC Academic Medical Centre, The Netherlands

NIVEL Netherlands Institute of Health Services Research, The Netherlands


DFI Dr Foster Intelligence, United Kingdom

RM Department of Clinical Quality and Patient Safety, Central Denmark Region

Polish Society For Quality Promotion in Health Care - ESQH Krakow Office

IMVR Institute for Medical Sociology, Health Services Research and Rehabilitation Science, University of Cologne, Germany

HOPE European Hospital and Health Care Federation

UCLA University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Participating countries

The collection of data has been done in eight countries: the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Turkey and the United Kingdom. The reason for selecting these countries is because they cover different European health systems and social variation and are big enough to have sufficient number of hospitals for the sampling strategy.

Czech National Accreditation Committee

Haute Autorité de Santé

Institute for Medical Sociology, Health Services Research and Rehabilitation Sciences

Polish Society for Quality Promotion in Health Care

Portuguese Association for Hospital Development

Portuguese Society for Quality in Health Care

Foundation for the accreditation and the development of health services

Turkish Society for Quality Improvement in Healthcare (SKID)

Dr Foster Intelligence


Project experts

The following consultants with a scientific experience have been included in the project:

Haute Autorité de Santé - Charles BRUNEAU

Health Policy Institute, Boston University, USA - Alan COHEN

Consultant UK - Charles SHAW

University of Birmingham, UK - Professor Russell MANION

University of Edinburgh, UK - Andrew THOMPSON

University of Manchester, UK - Kieran WALSHE

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is advising the steering committee on the quality of the deliverables of the project, ethical issues, general philosophy and direction of the project, corrective measures in the content of the work if necessary and the dissemination and exploitation of the projects results.

Members of the Advisory Board:

Jean BACOU, Haute Autorité de Santé, France

Jeni BREMNER, European Health Management Association

Reinhardt BUSSE, European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies

Fabrizio CARINCI, Research and development of innovative solutions for public health (SERECTRIX)

Agnieszka DAVAL-CICHON, Katja NEUBAUER, European Commission DG SANCO

Naomi FULOP, King's College London

Valentina HAFNER, WHO European Region

Göran HENRIKS, BMJ Forum/Jönkóping County Council


Piotr MIERZEWSKI, Council of Europe

Ellen NOLTE, RAND Europe

Frédéric DESTREBECQ, Union européenne des médecins spécialistes

Philippe SWENNEN, Association Internationale de la Mutualité

Birgit BEGER, Standing Committee of European Doctors